Psalm 63

I was reading Psalm 63 this morning during my devotions and I was encouraged by several points.

*  David’s conditions/circumstances
*  David’s recognized needs
*  What David was doing or how he was engaging God
*  How God answered and provided for David
*  David’s response to God’s provision
*  Circumstances are not hinderances

O God, you are my God; earnestly I seek you;
    my soul thirsts for you;
my flesh faints for you,
    as in a dry and weary land where there is no water.
2 So I have looked upon you in the sanctuary,
    beholding your power and glory.
3 Because your steadfast love is better than life,
    my lips will praise you.
4 So I will bless you as long as I live;
    in your name I will lift up my hands.
5 My soul will be satisfied as with fat and rich food,
    and my mouth will praise you with joyful lips,
6 when I remember you upon my bed,
    and meditate on you in the watches of the night;
7 for you have been my help,
    and in the shadow of your wings I will sing for joy.
8 My soul clings to you;
    your right hand upholds me.

*  David’s conditions/circumstances
David was in the wilderness of Judah, being chased by those who seek to destroy his life (9), liars (11).  He may have been literally in a “dry and weary land where there is no water” (1).

*  David’s recognized needs
David recognizes the condition of his soul and relates it to the condition of his body, seeing the connection between these two states of need. 
SOUL – thirsts for you
FLESH – faints for you
He desires to be near to the presence of God.  He also recognizes his relationship to God – that God is his provider, his God, and that he is under God’s authority (1).

*  What David was doing or how he was engaging God
David looked upon God in the sanctuary (2) – he earnestly sought God’s presence (1) where he knew God may be found (which corresponds to us reading God’s word, praying)
His soul “clings to you” – he held onto God’s promises through faith (8)
Remembered God and meditated about God during the hours of watch at night (6)

*  How God answered and provided for David
God…
Displayed His power and glory to David (2)
Demonstrated His steadfast love (better than life, 2)
Satisfied David’s soul as with fat and rich food (5)
Helped David through hard circumstances, provided protection (7)
Upheld him (8)

*  David’s response to God’s provision
Praised God with his words (3)
Blessed the name of the Lord and lifted up his hands in worship (4)
Sang joyfully to the Lord (5, 7)

Recognized God’s provision in direct response to his needs and was satisfied, refreshed and restored, joyful, hopeful, filled with praise and song.

*  Circumstances are not hinderances
Here’s David, in the middle of an uncomfortable wilderness where he has physical needs for food, water, shelter, safety, aware that he’s on the most wanted list, and he finds his soul in equal condition of need when compared with his physical survival needs.  He recognizes his soul’s survival needs, his relationship to God, and begins reciting what the Lord has done in the past for him.  As he seeks the Lord in this hard time, the Lord meets him and even though David is still stuck in a barren wilderness, he is filled with joy and praise, totally spiritually satisfied.  His human needs and circumstances do not prevent David from having the joy of the Lord nor of being filled with the Spirit and a godly response that seems to transcend his situation. 

How does this relate to my life?
I know that as I look to the Lord for His presence and provision of my spiritual and physical needs, He will respond.  I have to take action and remember the Lord, meditating on the Lord, and as I do so, He will do His part of bringing protection to my soul, filling me with praise and deep-seated joy, and satisfying my soul as with rich food.  I may still be in the wilderness circumstantially, but that doesn’t in any way prevent me from being spiritually satisfied.  This is a beautiful picture of the power of the joy of the Lord which is rooted in wisdom and fear of the Lord.

Leave a Reply

